Wednesday, June 16, 2021
HomeMusic News"Where Are Ü Now" And Calvin Harris Win Big At The AMAs

“Where Are Ü Now” And Calvin Harris Win Big At The AMAs

The American Music Awards marked an unstoppable step for electronic dance music when Jack Ü‘s “Where Are Ü Now” featuring Justin Bieber won Collaboration Of The Year at yesterday’s award show. The initially-strange but extremely successful collaboration was able to triumph against joint efforts from Taylor Swift and Kendrick Lamar; Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars; Kanye West, Rihanna, and Paul McCartney; and Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth. The winners were calculated by fan votes, pushing the boundaries on how far electronic music can go and how much of a force it is outside the actual industry.

P. Diddy, who performed with the trio at Ultra Music Festival earlier this year, presented Skrillex, Diplo, and Justin Bieber with the award, with Sonny shedding light on all the negative stuff in the world, saying “it’s up to us to be as positive as we can right now.”

Its crossover appeal started back in 2012, when the American Music Awards implemented the Favorite Electronic Dance Music Artist category. Producers David Guetta and Avicii took home the American prize in its first 2 years respectively. Last night’s winner was Calvin Harris, who also won the award last year.

Damon Stone
trying to shut the world out with music
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments